Unrated Opponent

Round 1

Our game was over fairly quickly, as I still had 56 minutes on my clock.  After he played 4.d3, I didn’t expect that as players online will typically play the most aggressive moves (which makes the …g6, …Bg7 idea work).  4…a6 seemed right, even though I figured it looked a little sketchy after 5.Bc4, when I’d have to play …h6, then …d6, but it seemed playable as well.  I was even thinking of playing …Ne7-c6 and having no kingside knight (always a concern).

Well, he went for it right away, and he even said after the game that he had played over-aggressively (he’s a kid).

Leave a Reply

